Deadly
Denizens
Jason Zavoda Presents
The Gord Novels
Greyhawk Wiki
#greytalk
JOIN THE CHAT
ON DISCORD
    Canonfire :: View topic - Assistance "GreyHawk-izing" new location?
    Canonfire Forum Index -> Greyhawk- D&D 3.0e/3.5e/d20/Pathfinder
    Assistance "GreyHawk-izing" new location?
    Apprentice Greytalker

Mon Oct 22, 2007 4:23 pm  
    Assistance "GreyHawk-izing" new location?

Hello,

I'm a novice DM with an interest in transforming a generic location into Oerth real-estate, with enough relative lore to be considered submittable material. Sadly, I haven't kept up with recent publications, and my notes are a mish-mash of data from 2nd edition through 3.5. I'd appreciate any ideas on how my micro-setting could be intertwined with Greyhawk canon.

My location is an island intended to cover character advancement from level 1 to roughly 6. I'd describe it as a friendlier "Isle of Dread", run by a motley bunch of NPCs. I have some simple web pages here:

http://www.crithitcomics.com/gazettemain.htm

Please forgive my lack of proper formatting. I'm better at the illustrations than anything else.

regards, labsenpai Smile
    Forum Moderator

Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:54 pm  

That website is pretty sharp. I like the layout, cartography and quick to digest content. Immediately when I saw the names and the tropical geography I thought of the south seas island chains were Isle of Dread has been tentatively dropped. If you look at the maps in the 1E GH gazetteer or even the world maps in later editions, there are tons of islands of varying sizes strewn throughout the tropics of Oerth. To keep it distinct from the Savage Tide arc, you could place it nearer to the other continent of Hepmonaland and that would given you access to races like Olman, Tuov and then Scarlet Brotherhood or piratical elements, plus all the Yuan-Ti and such you describe.
    Apprentice Greytalker

Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:35 pm  

Thanks, Mortellan.