Username Password
   or Create an Account
HomeForumsFAQArticlesReviewsDownloadsLinksTop 20Feedback
 Features
 
Greyhawk Wiki

 
Canonfire :: View topic - Two Weapon Fighting
Two Weapon Fighting

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Canonfire Forum Index -> Greyhawk- D&D 3.0e/3.5e/d20/Pathfinder
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
EileenProphetofIstus
Master Greytalker


Joined: Jun 28, 2007
Posts: 725
Location: Montevideo, Minnesota, US

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 2:22 am    Post subject: Two Weapon Fighting Reply with quote

I haven't played D&D for several years now and I'm playing an old character, therefore I am rusty on the rules.I'm having a hard time calculating some modifiers for Two-Weapon Fighting and I'm looking for some guidance.

I have a Cleric who uses a quarter staff which is a double weapon. As a 11th level cleric I get two attacks.

Base Attack bonuses: +8/+3
Strength 8: applies a -1 penalty to attacks and damage
Normal Two-Handed Penalties: -6 primary hand and -10 secondary hand

Page 113 under Double Weapons States: The character can also choose to use a double weapon two-handed attacking with only one end of it, most wizards who wield quarterstaffs use them this way.

Does this mean I strike with one end of the weapon twice in one round since I receive two attacks because of my level?

Am I missing any modifiers?

What are my attack bonuses when using the quarter staff as a two-handed weapon?

Confused!
_________________
Eileen of Greyhawk, Prophet of Istus, Messenger of the Gods
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
SirXaris
GreySage


Joined: Jul 26, 2010
Posts: 2421
Location: LG Dyvers

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 8:59 am    Post subject: Re: Two Weapon Fighting Reply with quote

EileenProphetofIstus wrote:
I have a Cleric who uses a quarter staff which is a double weapon. As a 11th level cleric I get two attacks.

Base Attack bonuses: +8/+3
Strength 8: applies a -1 penalty to attacks and damage
Normal Two-Handed Penalties: -6 primary hand and -10 secondary hand


A double weapon, like the staff, counts as a light weapon in your off-hand when using it two-handed, so your penalties for two-weapon fighting are reduced to -4/-4 (from -6/-10).

If you take the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, those penalties are reduced further by 2 each: to -2/-2.

Adding the -1 penalty for your low Strength puts you at -3/-3.

Applying that to your BAB, you have two attacks with your primary hand at +5 and +0 and a single off-hand attack at +5, or a total of 3 attacks at +5/+5/+0. Of course, you now add any magic, spell, etc. modifiers that apply.

In other words, fighting with a second weapon in your off-hand simply gives you a single extra attack with the weapon in that hand (the other end of your staff), albeit at the cost of an attack (To Hit) penalty with both hands.

Now...

Quote:
Page 113 under Double Weapons States: The character can also choose to use a double weapon two-handed attacking with only one end of it, most wizards who wield quarterstaffs use them this way.

Does this mean I strike with one end of the weapon twice in one round since I receive two attacks because of my level?


Yes. As I pointed out above, when making a Full Attack Action, you can always strike twice with the staff counting both attacks as your primary hand. Those attacks use your two BAB bonuses. You do not have to use the extra attack with your off-hand end of the staff. If you forego the off-hand attack, you do not suffer the two-weapon fighting penalties mentioned above. That is why wizards frequently forego an off-hand attack and only attack with their primary hand with a staff - because they can't hit anything if they suffer all those two-weapon fighting penalties. Wink

Whenever you choose to use the other end of the staff as a weapon in your off-hand to make an additional attack in any round, you only get one extra attack, but you use your best BAB (+8) to figure it.

If you eventually take Improved Two-Weapon Fighting, that feat simply allows you to make a second attack with your off-hand every round. So, in the above example, you'd get two attacks with your primary hand at +5 and two attacks with your off-hand at +0 for a total of 4 attacks at +5/+5/+0/+0.

Hope that is clear. Smile

SirXaris
_________________
SirXaris' Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/SirXaris?ref=hl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Canonfire Forum Index -> Greyhawk- D&D 3.0e/3.5e/d20/Pathfinder All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Canonfire phpBB2 theme by Jakob Persson (http://www.eddingschronicles.com).
Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Stone textures by Patty Herford
Ported for PHP-Nuke by nukemods.com
Forums ©


Canonfire! is a production of the Thursday Group in assocation with GREYtalk and Canonfire! Enterprises

Contact the Webmaster.  Long Live Spidasa!

PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Page Generation: 0.27 Seconds