JOIN THE CHAT
ON DISCORD
    Canonfire :: View topic - Dungeon Magazine's Amedio Jungle
    Canonfire Forum Index -> World of Greyhawk Discussion
    Dungeon Magazine's Amedio Jungle
    Apprentice Greytalker

Fri Mar 30, 2007 10:38 am  
    Dungeon Magazine's Amedio Jungle

So, I guess I'm an oldskooler, but I remember reading Roger Moore's article "A Green Hell: The Amedio Jungle" and being impressed as hell with it. I'm a veteran of some of the US military's adventures in Central America, and it jibed well with my experiences there.

So, along comes Dungeon Magazine's Adventure Path series and both of them place cities (large, cosmopolitan cities) in the Amedio. For those that don't read Dungeon, these modules run from 1st to 20th levels along a common theme over the course of 10-12 installments in the 'zine.

So, what do folks think of having Cauldron and Sasserine placed in a spot that is supposed be hell on Oerth and politically dominated by Redfellas (Scarlet Brotherhood)?
    Grandmaster Greytalker

Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:48 am  

I was very disappointed. This issue has been address at length in other forums on this site. Check out the search function.
    Master Greytalker

Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:07 am  

Yes, there has been lots of discussions concerning this elsewhere. However, also having spent some quality time in Central America (specifically not with the Military), I differ with many. Cauldron reminds me of San Cristobal de Las Casas in Chiapas or Antigua in Guatemala. Both are reminscent of the climate/setting rather than the colonial feel, though I suppose one could quantify both as WoG colonial towns. Sassarine reminds me of Vera Cruz in a similar manner. The population is very diverse and in many ways foreign to the rest of the region.