Username Password
  or Create an Account
Welcome to... Canonfire! World of GreyhawK
Features
Greyhawk Wiki

#greytalk-discord
    JOIN THE CHAT
    Canonfire :: View topic - Magic Shortbow
    Canonfire Forum Index -> Greyhawk- D&D 3.0e/3.5e/d20/Pathfinder
    Magic Shortbow
    Author Message
    Apprentice Greytalker

    Joined: Apr 20, 2008
    Posts: 52


    Send private message
    Sat May 16, 2009 12:51 pm  
    Magic Shortbow

    Question........My character has a magical composite shortbow +3. It has no strength rating, so it would be +0 in that regards. If it was an ordinary composite shortbow, damage done would be 1d6 for my medium-sized character, since it has a strength rating of +0. My question is do arrows shot from this magical composite shortbow gain +3 to damage as well as the +3 on "to hit" rolls? I have read the DM guide but it is not exactly clear - as I read it.

    If this magical +3 composite shortbow was initially constructed with a +2 strength rating, would arrow damage then be +5?

    Thanks in advance................ Happy
    Master Greytalker

    Joined: Nov 01, 2007
    Posts: 691
    From: NOW IN Cape May, NJ! Loving the new digs!

    Send private message
    Sat May 16, 2009 2:45 pm  
    Composite bow magic and Str bonuses

    John Smith -

    As I understand the rules, yes, the magical bonus from the enchantment of the bow always applies to both rolls to hit, and to damage. In addition, if you have a mundane ( i.e. non-magical) bonus from the composite bow itself (the strength rating) that would also stack, and you would have a cumulative +5 to damage from those two sources with that weapon.

    Yay!! I made a helpful contribution!! Happy

    Icarus

    Edit: And as Saracenus points out below, the rule about the magical bonus of arrows and bows stacking, or not stacking, did change from 3e to the 3.5 revision. In 3.5, they don't stack ... you just use the larger of the two.
    _________________
    Owner and Lead Admin: https://greyhawkonline.com
    Editor-in-Chief of the Oerth Journal: https://greyhawkonline.com/oerthjournal
    Visit my professional art gallery: https://wkristophnolen.daportfolio.com


    Last edited by Icarus on Sat May 16, 2009 4:03 pm; edited 3 times in total
    Adept Greytalker

    Joined: Nov 28, 2006
    Posts: 336
    From: Barony of Trellwood, The Great Kingdom

    Send private message
    Sat May 16, 2009 2:49 pm  
    Re: Magic Shortbow

    JohnSmith wrote:
    Question........My character has a magical composite shortbow +3. It has no strength rating, so it would be +0 in that regards. If it was an ordinary composite shortbow, damage done would be 1d6 for my medium-sized character, since it has a strength rating of +0. My question is do arrows shot from this magical composite shortbow gain +3 to damage as well as the +3 on "to hit" rolls? I have read the DM guide but it is not exactly clear - as I read it.

    If this magical +3 composite shortbow was initially constructed with a +2 strength rating, would arrow damage then be +5?

    Thanks in advance................ Happy


    John,

    It depends. What version of D&D are you playing. There were some changes between 3.0 and 3.5 D&D that would effect the answer to your question.

    Assuming you have 3.5 any magic that the bow has is added to the arrow. So any arrow shot from a +3 bow would be +3 (enhancement) to hit and +3 (enhancement) to damage. The +3 (enhancement) damage would stack with a Str bonus, provided the bow was a Str bow.

    Examples:

    +1 composite shortbow (+2 Str) firing normal arrows
    +1 to hit/1d6+3 damage

    +1 flaming composite shortbow (+2 Str) firing normal arrows
    +1 to hit/1d6+3 plus 1d6 fire damage

    +1 composite shortbow (+2 Str) firing +2 arrows
    +2 to hit/1d6+4 damage
    Notice how the arrows +2 enhancement bonus does not stack with the bows but the Str damage does.

    Anyway, I hope this helps.

    EDIT: Fixed math mistake (see bold text), the +2 should be +4.
    Black Hand of Oblivion

    Joined: Feb 16, 2003
    Posts: 3760
    From: So. Cal

    Send private message
    Sun May 17, 2009 2:11 am  

    The lads have got this one nailed down pretty well. Smile
    _________________
    - Moderator/Admin (in some areas)/Member -
    Adept Greytalker

    Joined: Sep 21, 2003
    Posts: 538
    From: Germany

    Send private message
    Fri May 22, 2009 5:46 am  
    Re: Magic Shortbow

    JohnSmith wrote:
    If this magical +3 composite shortbow was initially constructed with a +2 strength rating, would arrow damage then be +5?


    Yes, but only if you have in fact a str of 14 +.

    A bow must be specially crafted (i.e. harder pull) for you to gain the benefit of your high str.

    If you str is 10 you do not gain any benefit from a bow that is made for higher str ratings.

    If you have str 18 (+4) and a [str +2] bow you only gain +2 to damage.
    Display posts from previous:   
       Canonfire Forum Index -> Greyhawk- D&D 3.0e/3.5e/d20/Pathfinder All times are GMT - 8 Hours
    Page 1 of 1

    Jump to:  

    You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot vote in polls in this forum


    Forums ©


    Canonfire! is a production of the Thursday Group in assocation with GREYtalk and Canonfire! Enterprises

    Contact the Webmaster.  Long Live Spidasa!


    Greyhawk Gothic Font by Darlene Pekul is used under the Creative Commons License.

    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.29 Seconds