Deadly
Denizens
Jason Zavoda Presents
The Gord Novels
Greyhawk Wiki
#greytalk
JOIN THE CHAT
ON DISCORD
    Canonfire :: View topic - Spells and Magic that Grate on my nerves within GH
    Canonfire Forum Index -> World of Greyhawk Discussion
    Spells and Magic that Grate on my nerves within GH
    Master Greytalker

Thu Sep 09, 2004 10:11 am  
    Spells and Magic that Grate on my nerves within GH

I have been playing (2nd ed) for several years and enjoy it but their are just some spells and magic items that have become as nails on the proverbial chalk board to me, I cringe when they are mentioned.

The spell Clone : I know they were trying to provide a magic-user alternative to raise dead, so much for the uniqueness of the priest class and value of established faiths, but it is just plain silly most DMs can be browbeaten into clones so at higher levels every wizard has an army of sleeping clones rending him unkillable see the recent revivial of the circle of eight.

The spell Fireball : not so much for the spell but how it is misunderstood sigh...it is usually the first flashy spell the wizard tries to get most can only see the extra 1d6 per level aspect and happily fling fireballs at anything that moves but a fireball is explosive it can't be used in a small confined space say a dungeon (blowback), a forest (anger the druids and rangers), farmland or cities (most people don't like to fight fires or see their homes and crops burn).

The spell Creeping Doom : This is suppose to be the epitome of Druidic power to solve planetary threats, it's power a symbol to others respect nature and druids or else and used as such responsibly works well unfortunately most players for some reason ego or boredom sooner or later see the 500 - 1000 damage and completely lose their mind as they go on a homocidal rampage...as if the druidic circles would allow the guardian of Oerth to wander personally assassinating the powerful.