JOIN THE CHAT
ON DISCORD
    Canonfire :: View topic - The Enmity of Syrul
    Canonfire Forum Index -> World of Greyhawk Discussion
    The Enmity of Syrul
    Adept Greytalker

Sun Jul 10, 2022 5:16 pm  
    The Enmity of Syrul

Due to a poorly worded command to a nycadaemon he managed to briefly control, a character in my campaign inadvertently ended up sending the nycadaemon on a suicide mission to kill Syrul "for vengeance!" (his last words to the nycadaemon). He is unaware of what he's done, only knowing that the nycadaemon vanished.

Obviously, the nycadaemon is going to fail and be tortured into revealing what happened and then destroyed (probably?). I'd like to hear opinions on exactly what actions the goddess should take against the character. I've been running a campaign in Greyhawk for almost forty years, but I bet the number of times Syrul's worshippers have been involved, ever, I could count on one hand. She doesn't seem to have any cult or organized presence in Greyhawk City, possibly worship amongst one or two of the Scarlet Brotherhood agents, but that's about it.

Would the goddess take direct action (in her person) against the character? (this would likely be subtle, given her nature)
    Or would she trust to her Oerthly servants to take care of this business?

For those of you that know the Age of Worms adventure path, we're in the City of Greyhawk, ready to begin the Hall of Harsh Reflections chapter. The characters are 7th and 8th level.

The upcoming adventure, coincidentally enough, involves an assassination plot against the characters by a group of doppelgängers who have become thrall to a mind flayer. They're not connected with Syrul in any way, but the confluence of deception with Syrul's portfolio is very interesting.